

Scott A. Rivkees, MD State Surgeon General

Vision: To be the Healthiest State in the Nation

FLORIDA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH IN MONROE COUNTY COVID-19 UPDATE 5/17/2021

COVID-19 INFORMATION

For your safety and the safety of staff, all services at the Florida Department of Health in Monroe County (DOH-Monroe) are currently by appointment only. Call (305) 293-7500.

For questions, please call the State COVID-19 Call Center 24/7 at 1-866-779-6121 or email <u>COVID-19@flhealth.gov</u>. For local testing information, visit: <u>Monroe.flhealth.gov/covid19</u>. Online COVID-19 information can be found at <u>floridahealthcovid19.gov</u> or at <u>CDC.gov</u>.

Learn more about COVID-19 vaccines in Florida at: <u>floridahealthcovid19.gov/covid-19-vaccines-in-</u><u>florida.</u> Vaccine summary at: <u>tinyurl.com/vacsummary.</u>

A MESSAGE FROM DOH-MONROE

- The FDA has approved the Pfizer COVID-19 vaccine for individuals 12 years of age or older. To obtain the vaccine in Florida, individuals 12-17 years of age must be accompanied by a guardian. The Pfizer vaccine can be obtained through local retail pharmacies, such as CVS and Walgreens. Visit monroe.flhealth.gov/vax for more information.
- Fully vaccinated people can resume activities without wearing a mask or physically distancing, except where required by federal, state, local, tribal, or territorial laws, rules, and regulations, including local business and workplace guidance. More at: <u>https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/vaccines/fully-vaccinated.html</u>
- The department encourages all those who have not yet been vaccinated against COVID-19, to do so as soon as possible at one of the following upcoming events or at local retail pharmacies to protect yourself, your family, and your community.
 - Upcoming walk-up vaccination events in Monroe County: May 19, 20, and 21 from 12pm to 8pm at Big Pine United Methodist Church at 280 Key Deer Blvd, Big Pine Key.
 - A \$10 grocery gift voucher valid at all Publix and Winn Dixie stores will be provided with every vaccine administered at these events while supplies last.
 - No appointments necessary. Those who wish to make an appointment for the Big Pine Key vaccine events can do so at <u>myvaccine.fl.gov.</u>
- Vaccines are more readily available at local pharmacies by appointment and some walk-in, including at CVS, Walgreens, Publix, Winn Dixie, CHI, and Rural Health Network Monroe County. For Monroe County vaccine information, where to register, or make an appointment, visit monroe.flhealth.gov/vax.
- Remember, if you have symptoms or tested positive for COVID-19, or were a close contact of a positive person, to quarantine or self-isolate, you must separate yourself from others in the home. Stay in a separate bedroom and use a separate bathroom, if possible.
- If a contact tracer calls you, please cooperate and answer the phone or call right back.



SLOW THE SPREAD OF COVID-19

What is a Close Contact?

A close contact of a COVID-19 positive individual is considered anyone who has been within 6 feet or less of the positive individual for 15 minutes or more in a 24-hour period, regardless of whether the individuals were wearing a mask. Effective masks are snug to the face without hindering breathing and must always cover your nose and mouth. An infected person can spread COVID-19 starting 48 hours (or 2 days) before the person has any symptoms or tests positive for COVID-19. See the link for more information: https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/php/public-health-recommendations.html.

I Tested Positive for COVID-19. Now What?

If you tested positive for COVID-19, you need to stay home and isolate per the guidance provided by public health officials. This means no trips to the store or other outings, even if you do wear a face mask. If you think or know you had COVID-19, and had symptoms, you can be with others 10 days since symptoms first appeared and 24 hours have passed with no fever without fever-reducing medication and symptoms have improved. If you tested positive with no symptoms of COVID-19, you can be with others after 10 days have passed since your test date. Follow this link to stay up-to-date: https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/if-you-are-sick/end-home-isolation.html.

When can I return to work or school?

People who test positive for COVID-19 should isolate for 10 days from the start of any symptoms, or 10 days from their test date if they had no symptoms. If after the full 10 days of isolation, the person's symptoms have improved, and they have had no fever for at least 24 hours (without the use of fever reducing medication), they are considered not contagious and may return to work, school, and other activities. Per the CDC, retesting is not recommended as a positive result may continue to occur even though the person is no longer considered contagious. For more information visit the following links: www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/hcp/duration-isolation.html and www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/hcp/duration-isolation.html

Daily Health Questions

Keeping our community safe is everyone's responsibility. Ask yourself these questions daily:

- 1. Do you or anyone in your household have symptoms of COVID-19? Symptoms include fever of 100.4 or above, cough, shortness of breath, difficulty breathing, chills, muscle pain, sore throat, congestion, runny nose, nausea, new loss of taste or smell.
- 2. Have you or anyone in your household traveled outside the country or to affected areas in the US?
- 3. Have you had direct contact (within 6 feet for more than 15 minutes) with anyone who has tested positive for COVID-19?
- 4. Is there anyone in your household under instructions to isolate due to COVID-19?

Testing Information

If you suspect you might have COVID-19, call your primary care provider, urgent care, or DOH-Monroe at (786) 910-9764 for an appointment. Visit:<u>monroe.flhealth.gov/covid19</u>. Remember, residents *and* visitors are responsible for keeping our piece of paradise safe and healthy.

MENTAL HEALTH RESOURCES

Are you feeling stressed/depressed/anxious/unsure of the future? Do you need support or someone to talk to? If you are in need of mental health services, contact one of the agencies below:

- Guidance Care Center at (305) 434-7660 Option 8, available 24 hrs./7 days a week.
- National Suicide Prevention Hotline at 800-273-TALK (or 800-273-8255) to be connected to the Lifeline. You can also text "HOME" TO 741-741 or send a <u>Facebook Message</u>.
- Additional resources at Monroe.flhealth.gov/c19

STAY INFORMED

For up-to-date information on COVID-19 and other public health related matters, please visit the following:

DOH-Monroe website: <u>monroe.floridahealth.gov</u> Monroe County Emergency Management website: <u>monroecountyem.com/covid19</u> Monroe County Tourist Development Council: <u>fla-keys.com/news/article/10775</u> Florida Department of Health website: <u>www.floridahealth.gov</u> Florida Department of Health COVID-19 website: <u>floridahealthcovid19.gov</u> Florida Department of Health Twitter: @HealthyFla